Wk 1 – Art Experience – Plaster Casting

So today is Sunday and of course I left this art activity for the last day of the weekend to do. My friends wanted to hang out, so I thought I would just make them all come with me to do this activity. At first, we went to some river bed that we know by our houses because it’s local and I thought it would have the materials I needed. It turns out that using dirt instead of sand was not such a good idea. we spent at least 2 hours trying to figure out how to make it come out nice but the dirt just wasn’t good enough. So then we relocated to a park that had sand. Here I was able to get a mold of my hand within like 30 minutes. It was hard to get the right consistency of the plaster because I didn’t want to make it too watery and I didn’t want to make it too thick. But for some reason, I couldn’t get it to a consistency that would make the plaster be able to drop into the fingers of the mold of my hand. I knew the plaster wasn’t going to drip down to my fingers so I wasn’t surprised when I dug out the molded hand and found there were no whole completed fingers, just little stubs. My friends all laughed at me and bullied me by saying it totally looks identical to my actual hand. I thought it looked pretty cool though because it looked like a tortoise hand. Well, I tried my hardest and even though I was somewhat unsuccessful, I had fun with a hint of frustration.

Leave a Reply

